Table of content

H

angouts is an application that Google introduced at one of its conferences in 2013. The software immediately pulls in contacts from your smartphone's phone book, your computer, and the Gmail mail service. However, it's not always handy. That's why in this guide we will explain in detail how to delete Hangout contacts and what deadlocks users have with the application.

Detailed instructions, how to delete Google Hangouts contact

This app was created to make it easier for people to communicate and to bring everyone you've ever communicated with together in one place. On the one hand, that way you would never lose a person's email, phone number, or profile, which is good. On the other hand, you have to regularly clean up your Google Hangouts contact list because of the specifically designed interface and synchronization. It's annoying at times. 

Method one: Remove a user from Google Contacts

Unfortunately, messenger developers did not provide an option to remove a person directly through the mobile or desktop app. If you don't want to not be connected to a specific human, you'll have to reorganize your Google Hangouts list by yourself.

Option #1 How to delete Hangout contacts

Step 1.

At first, open any convenient browser on your smartphone and type contacts.google.com in the address field.

Google Chrome
Contacts Google
My Contacts

Step 2.

Usually, unnecessary or unimportant names are stored in the «Other contacts» section. Tap on this line, and it will take you to a new page. Here will be a listing of those who are not part of your notebook and have not been added.

Contacts
Other Contacts

Step 3.

To remove an unnecessary person, find his/her name in the list and click on it. In the upper-right corner, you'll find an icon in the form of three vertical dots. Press on the icon so that a drop-down list appears. In it, you will see a menu of possible settings.

Contact Details

Step 4.

At the very bottom there will be a link that allows you to delete Hangout contact forever. Tap on it and validate your operation.

Delete Option
Confirmation
Contact Removed

Option #2 How to delete Hangout contacts

If you need to stop communicating with someone who has already been added to your list, then you need to go a little differently.

Step 1. In the menu on the left you should go to the Google Hangouts contact.

Contacts Menu

Added Contacts
Added Contacts

Step 2. From the list of names, select the person you want to say goodbye to. At the top right, there will be a dot icon again. Click on it to bring up the option to wipe out the acquaintances.

Anrew's profile
Anrew's profile
Delete Andrew
Delete Andrew
Note: If you've also been wondering how you can hide people in Hangouts, you should be doing it in the same menu. Above, the second-to-last line of the menu allows you to create a hidden contact in Gmail with one click.

Step 3. Confirm the action, and it's done!

Confirm the action
Confirm the action
Done
Done

Another handy feature – you can get rid of unnecessary conversations in groups. Below we will attach screenshots of how to do this with the previously added people and your off-list users.

Select Andriana
Select Andriana
Checkbox
Checkbox
Select Kate El
Select Kate El
Checkbox 2
Checkbox 2
Dotted icon
Dotted icon
Select Delete
Select Delete
Confirm your action
Confirm your action
Perfect work
Perfect work

Please notice that the person you've swept will be able to write to you again. If you want to never communicate with certain folks at all, then you should block them.

How to block Google contact quickly and efficiently?

  • Go to your Gmail account and afterwards tap the Chat button at the very bottom. If you don't see it, then you need to put chat notifications in your settings (Menu left => Settings => Press on the line with your address => On the new page check the box next to «Show chat and rooms»);
My Gmail
My Gmail
  • There will be a «New chat» button in the lower-right corner, press on it and enter the name/login of the acquaintance you want to remove in the search box;
Find a contact
Find a contact
  • Go to the dialog and at the top, tap on the icon with dots. Under «Conversational options» will appear a function called «Block»;
Dialog
Dialog
Block Option
Block Option
Block Option 2
Block Option 2
  • Confirm the choice or cancel the action.
Cancel or Bock?
Cancel or Bock?

How to delete Hangout contacts in the application

As we said above, the developers of the messenger did not provide for such a possibility. You can only archive a dialog with a specific person or edit out  it. Then you will not be disturbed by unnecessary messages. But as soon as the deleted user writes a new text, his dialog will return to the app.

Instructions for archiving Hangout contact dialogs

Step 1. Start the software and mark the conversation you want to remove.

Hangouts App
Hangouts App
Hangouts Dialog
Hangouts Dialog

Step 2. In the upper-right corner you will see the familiar icon with dots. Click on it and go to «Options».

Hangouts Options
Hangouts Options

Step 3. At the bottom, there will be an «Archive conversation» function. Select it to make the unnecessary dialog disappear.

Archive Conversation
Archive Conversation
Archived
Archived

You can also unarchive the discussion if you somehow want to reread some of it or find important information.

Here's what to do:

  1. Go to the general menu, which is located on the left;
  2. In the list of sections, press on the «Archived» button. This section holds all the dialogs that you choose to archive;
  3. Now just choose the discussion and afterwards push on the icon at the top right and take «Unarchive conversation» from the list;
  4. The discussion is now back in place!

Instructions on how to remove contact from Hangouts

Don't plan to restore a conversation with someone at all? Then just clear all unnecessary information from your chats. 

Step 1. Directly in the application, pick the dialog that you plan to erase.

Hangouts Dialog 2
Hangouts Dialog 2

Step 2. Go to the menu with options through the icon on the right side.

Hangouts Options 2
Hangouts Options 2


Step 3. In the last line will be the function that allows you to delete a Hangout contact from your app and remove all messages along with it.

Delete Conversation
Delete Conversation

Step 4. Confirm that you really want to get rid of the conversation. The deleted information will not be recoverable.

Confirm this action
Confirm this action

Step 5. As soon as you hit the required button, the messenger is cleared!

Nice work!
Nice work!

A guide on how to delete Hangout contacts from your desktop

Sometimes there are situations when you've been actively communicating with someone through an app on your laptop or computer, but now you want to exclude the person from the messenger. Usually, such situations occur when your colleagues quit, business partners stop providing some services, or the other person has started using different software.

In that case, the acquaintance is no longer relevant and will only be a distraction. Especially when you use this messenger only for business purposes or to solve specific issues.

Here are step-by-step instructions on how to remove somebody from your email application:

  • in the lower-left corner, click on the icon for the app;
  • you'll see all the dialogs you've started recently;
  • now move your mouse over the username and press on the dotted symbol;
  • you'll see two options in front of you «Archive» and «Delete»;
  • select the one that is best for you and uphold the action;
  • you did it in a couple of seconds, congratulations!

We hope that our recommendations helped you to quickly solve the problem and that you figured it out. Many people often don't know how to delete Hangout contacts on their smartphones or computers. This software has an extremely inconvenient interface and unclear even for experienced users a set of functions.


Rate this article!
ratings, average:
out of 5
Posted 
September 28, 2021
 in 
How to
 category

Replace your secretary
with Nection now

Get started for free today

Read more

View All
No items found.

More from 

How to

 category

View All