Table of content

E

verybody has probably faced this situation when a person annoys them with ongoing messages or unnecessary advertisements. Alternatively, an ex-colleague acts up, crossing all the lines of decency. Of these individuals, many want to get rid of as soon as possible. Isn't it true? If your answer is yes, then my instructions on how to block someone on LinkedIn will be really valuable.

Off-topic: The idea to make a short guide on blocking connections arose by random chance. Despite the simple and clear interface of LinkedIn, even I, a well-experienced user, did not immediately understand the process. That's why I decided to add screenshots to the article and the walkthrough description of the steps.

How to block someone on LinkedIn? Two easy to go methods

You can find not two but three ways of blocking people on this social network. In fact, there are only two. The process for «locking out» an unwanted human being from a smartphone without using the LinkedIn app is identical to the one I describe below. The only exception is that instead of the «More» button in the mobile site version, there will be the dotted icon on the right.

Method #1. Using a desktop computer or laptop

Let's start with the most simple and popular option, how to block someone on LinkedIn. All you need is a desktop device and an internet connection.

Step 1

The first thing you have to do is go to LinkedIn and log in to the account. If you are already logged in, it makes more sense to follow my recommendations from https://www.linkedin.com/feed

Profile feed
Profile feed

Step 2

In the horizontal menu, to the right of the Home tab, you will notice the My Network tab. Click on it and wait until you are on a new page. You should now see a «Manage my network» section on the left. Do you see a subtitle titled «Connections»? Good! You have done everything right, and you need to click on «Connections» to go to the list of members on your network.

Manage my network button
Manage my network button

Step 3

It is the easiest step. You are on another page where you can sort the list of people online by last or first name and by added date. Set the proper setting to find the person manually or use the search box on the right.

Connections page
Connections page

Step 4

Once the person you were looking for is found in the connections list, go to their profile. Under the photo, you will see two buttons, «Message» and «More». At this point, you need to click on the white «More» button.

Chosen contact's page
Chosen contact's page

Step 5

After you do this, you will see a drop-down list of several possible options. You need to click on the last tab named «Report/Block». Here you will see a new pop-up window. On the very last line, you notice «Block ...». Click on it.

Drop-down list
Drop-down list

Step 6

The website will then ask you for confirmation of what you've done. I don't think anyone would go that far for nothing, but LinkedIn.com wants to make sure you're 100% clear on your action. If it's OK, click «Block»; if not, please cancel the operation.

Blocking connection
Blocking connection
Confirm the action
Confirm the action

Congratulations! Now you know how to block someone on LinkedIn through a desktop device. 

Note: If you accidentally blocked someone or want to undo such action, you will have to wait two days. According to the rules of LinkedIn, you have to wait 48 hours before unblocking.

Method #2. Using mobile and the LinkedIn app

Now the issue is a little more complicated. The interface of the LinkedIn mobile app is a bit messier than the desktop version. Even with this in mind, the whole procedure won't take more than 1-2 minutes.

Step 1

To get started, launch the LinkedIn mobile app on your smartphone. Once you're on the home page, just below your avatar, you'll see a link with the number of your connections. Click that one to go further.

App Home page
App Home page

Step 2

On the new page, you will see all of your connections. Above the names of the contacts, there are filters by which you can sort members. Set the necessary parameters and find the person you want to add to the block list.

All your connections list
All your connections list

Step 3

Once you've found the profile you're looking for by using filters or the search box, you can move on to the next part of how to block someone on LinkedIn. The interface of the mobile application is slightly different from the desktop website. For this reason, you won't see the «More» button under the user's avatar. Instead, there will be a dotted icon. Click on it to continue the blocking process.

Person's profile
Person's profile

Step 4

In the window that opens, you will see several features available to LinkedIn users. We are interested in the last line, «Report or Block». Click on this link to proceed to the next step.

App's drop-down list
App's drop-down list

Step 5

On the Report page, you will notice more options and things you can do with someone else's account. We are interested in the «Block ...» line (instead of an ellipsis, you will see the user's name here). Click on this option.

Options list
Options list
Options list 2
Options list 2

Step 6

As the last stage, you will be asked to confirm your intention to block the person. At the bottom of the screen, press the blue button. With this action, you will add the individual to the block list. 

That's all you need to know about how to block someone on LinkedIn using your smartphone and mobile application. Now no one will bother you! If you don't like interacting with people who aren't part of your network, you should consider using a personal CRM. Nection is a business relationship application that will allow you to keep in touch with people from different spheres of activity. And it's not a typical CRM with a basic set of features but an entire ecosystem for building competent relationships with colleagues, business people, and your role models in different channels.

FAQ

Is it better to block or remove someone on LinkedIn? I don't want a person to know about my actions.?

It is a trick question. When you remove a person from your connections, they are not notified of that. However, when you go to your profile page, the contact will see that they are no longer your 1st level contact. The good thing about this works is that you can remove someone both from their profile page and through the Connections tab. As for blocking, an individual can view public information.

How many people can I block on LinkedIn.com?

Previously, you could only block 1,000 people. LinkedIn's rules have recently changed slightly, and the number of people you can block has increased to 1,400 users.

Can a person tell if you block them on LinkedIn? Or can I not worry about that?

You don't have to worry whether your connection will somehow find out about the blocking or not. LinkedIn does not send notifications of such actions to members. So, a blocked person will only be able to view generally public data on your profile and won't annoy you in any way. The only exception is for accounts that before used a Recruiter account together. If that's the case, the blocked party will be notified. Learn more about how to block someone on LinkedIn in our guide above.


Personal CRM for business contacts
Get started for free today
Rate this article!
147
ratings, average:
4.95
out of 5
Posted 
July 15, 2022
 in 
How to
 category

Read more

View All
No items found.

More from 

How to

 category

View All