Table of content

I

f you do a lot of online communication with friends, family, and colleagues, you've probably heard of Microsoft's free software, Skype. Although this application was released almost 20 years ago, it is still among the most favored ones in the world. Two years ago, the program even reached 4 billion users! Today I will show you few methods how to remove Skype contacts on both smartphone and desktop devices. It will make this app easier to use!

Method #1. Using a mobile device

The developers of this app have well-thought-out its usability. That way, you can delete profiles in two different ways instead of one. Each of these methods is simple so that the whole process will take no longer than a minute.

Option 1: Via the tab.

Step 1.

Search the software icon on your smartphone and run it.

Screen with the app icon
Screen with the app icon

Step 2.

Wait for the full download of chats.

Opening the application
Opening the application

Step 3.

You will find a tab with a list of all the people you've added to the app in the bottom-right corner. Tap on this, and you'll get to a page where you can see the names of all your friends, acquaintances, colleagues, or pen pals.

All chats
All chats
All acquaintances and friends
All acquaintances and friends

Step 4.

Hold for a few seconds the name of the person whose account you want to delete. Then you will see a window with a list of available options.

Step 5.

Pick the last line from the list and confirm the action you want to take.

A pop-up window
A pop-up window
A pop-up window 2
A pop-up window
Confirm the action
Confirm the action

Congratulations! Now you know how to remove Skype contacts through the tab, and you can get rid of unnecessary or outdated accounts at any time. Now you can test another way to clear your book.

Option 2. Via the chat section.

Action 1. Repeat the first two steps from the instructions above.

Action 2. From the list of active conversations, pick the person with whom you no longer want to communicate, or he/she has stopped using this application.

Some chats
Some chats

Action 3. At this point, you will see the familiar window with all the possibilities to interact with the specific profile. Among the available features, select View profile.

A pop-up list
A pop-up list
Select the action
Select the action

Action 4. On the new page, you'll see all the information about the person and various other features for communicating with this exactly human being. Scroll to the bottom of the page.

Profile details
Profile details

Action 5. After you've flipped the screen all the way to the bottom, you'll see a red Block contact button. It immediately catches your eye, and you definitely won't miss it. Now raise your glance a little higher because there is the Delete contact button.

Profile details 2
Profile details 2

Action 6. It only remains to complete the procedure by confirming or canceling this operation.

Complete the procedure
Complete the procedure

The updated version of Microsoft software is one of the most comfortable and easy to use. The only thing you can't do from your mobile is deleting a group of accounts at once. However, this can easily be done via a desktop device! Below, I will tell you in detail how to do it.

Method #2. Using a computer or laptop

There is no need to explain again how to remove Skype contacts from the desktop version of the software. Instead, I will attach below screenshots that show step-by-step two ways to erase unnecessary or irrelevant accounts.

Option 1. For PC

Detailed instructions on how to remove Skype contacts in a few clicks:

  1. Once you have launched the program, go to your book.
  2. After this action, you should press the Ctrl button on your keyboard and tap on the accounts you want to put in the trash.
  3. When all the required people are marked, click the RMB (Right Mouse Button) on any marked nickname.
  4. There should be a function that allows you to get rid of a group of profiles at once. 
  5. Press it and confirm that you really want to put all the ticked acquaintances, friends, and colleagues «in the basket».
  6. That's it! You've finished clearing your book and won't get lost in an ocean of irrelevant or unwanted conversations again.
Some chats PC
Some chats PC
Profile details PC
Profile details PC

Profile details PC 2
Profile details PC 2
Profile details PC 3
Profile details PC 3
Account deletion
Account deletion

Option 2. For PC

Some chats PC 2
Some chats PC 2
Contact page PC
Contact page PC
Account deletion 2
Account deletion 2
Account deletion 3
Account deletion 3

FAQ: What else do people want to know besides how to delete Skype contacts

I did everything as written in the step-by-step instructions, but nothing worked. After I did replace Skype contacts, they were still in chats.

You did everything correctly, don't worry. The software developers just decided to leave you an escape path if you deleted your chat mate's account mistakenly and didn't have time to press the Undo button. 

If you want dialogs with removed profiles to be erased from the app as well, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the application, find the dialog you want to hide or delete.
Some chats 3
Some chats 3
  1. RMB (Right Mouse Button) click on the chat.
  2. Afterward will appear a drop-down list.
A drop-down list
A drop-down list

  1. Select Hide or Delete conversation feature from the list of the available options.
The list of the available option
The list of the available option
Choose the required option
Choose the required option


  1. Now confirm your action and enjoy your freedom.

Note that this procedure is also valid for a smartphone. Only, instead of using the RMB, you need to hold the chat for a couple of seconds with a finger. Below, I will additionally attach a screenshot of Hide/Delete conversation feature from a phone.

Do I need to synchronize data after I erase one or more people in the app?

One of the best characteristics of this software is that the information is saved either for desktop or mobile devices. You don't have to do anything extra.

Why don't I see a button to remove an account when I choose View profile?

Most likely, you are trying to delete a person who is not in your book. Such a profile can only be blocked. Also, you can hide or erase conversations forever. Note that if you only hide/remove the chat, the account owner can write to you again, then the dialog will reappear.

What does the profile look like if it is not added to the book?

Screenshots of the mobile and desktop versions of the app.

Not added profile
Not added profile
Not added profile 2
Not added profile 2
Block button
Block button
Not added profile PC
Not added profile PC
Not added profile PC 2
Not added profile PC 2
Not added profile PC 3
Not added profile PC 3
Confirming the action
Confirming the action





Rate this article!
37
ratings, average:
5.00
out of 5
Posted 
November 23, 2021
 in 
How to
 category

Replace your secretary
with Nection now

Get started for free today

Read more

View All
No items found.

More from 

How to

 category

View All